Home / About / Trainers / Margot
Margot - trainer at Pines Learning

Margot

EAL Trainer

What courses do you teach?

Starting out with English on Tuesday morning. I teach English also at Melbourne Polytechnic on Tuesday and Thursday evenings and Wednesday mornings.

What have you studied/qualifications?

  • Diploma of Teaching (Primary)
  • Graduate Diploma of Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL)
  • Bachelor degree in Education (Adult Literacy)
  • Certificate IV in Learning and Assessment (plus upgrades)
  • I also studied my Bachelor’s Degree in Health Sciences (Naturopathy)

What do you love most about your job?

I love teaching. I always have. When I was a child I used to have “school” with my dolls. When I left Box Hill Institute after almost 26 years teaching in the English Language studies department, to try my hand as a naturopath, after a year I missed teaching so much, I came back to it. I have many happy memories of my students from the Box Hill/Manningham area, starting language learning so nervously and becoming so confident by the end of the time.I still keep in contact with many old students. We might meet for lunch once a year together.

What experience and other skills have you gained?

I worked in the animal field for some years before I went to college to start my teaching career. My first teaching experience was in Japan, where I lived twice. The second time we went, this time for 3 years, we had school and kinder aged kids, so I know what it is like to be like a migrant in a country where the language and writing is not English, and I must organise school and kindergarten issues.

What do you love doing outside of work?

I have always been fascinated with natural medicine and it took me 8 years to do the Naturopathy degree, because I was working full-time. I worked in the field for a couple of years, but it is not easy to make a good living from it. I always told my past students my plan for the future was to work a few days a week as a teacher, a day or two as a naturopath and a day or so writing stories. That is my other love. I write romance, drama, and short stories for ESL students.

Also I live on a small farm in the hills. There is always plenty to do. I used to have horses that I rode regularly but those three have died of old age. Maybe I will get more – I haven’t decided yet.

What were you going to be ‘when you grew up’?

I’ve always loved teaching. I forgot that until I was teaching Sunday School at Toolangi and really enjoyed teaching the kids. Then I decided to go back to study as a mature aged student (all of 22!) I have taught adults, primary school children, special needs students. ESL, EFL, migrants, overseas (ELICOS) students and tutored secondary students and literacy students.